DAY 7 – GREMLINS (1984)

gremlins-singing

Starring: Zach Galligan, Phoebe Cates, Corey Feldman, Judge Reinhold, Hoyt Axton

Directed by: Joe Dante

Synopsis: A boy inadvertently breaks three rules concerning his new pet and unleashes a horde of malevolently mischievous monsters on a small town.

Oh how I loved Gremlins when I was a kid. Old ladies flying through the air on chairlifts, scary but kind of cute monsters carol singing, set at Christmas and Mogwai’s (it’s a sign of how enduring Gremlins is, that I don’t even have to elaborate on that). What’s not to enjoy! The film has so many memorable moments in it, and so many laughs that it doesn’t even have to be Christmas to watch it.

The cast are all more than capable (including 80’s stars Phoebe Cates and Corey Feldman), but the stars of the show are both Gizmo, the cute and cuddly Mogwai, and his spawn, the not so cuddly Gremlins. You will find yourself ahhhing and ooohing at Gizmo, and then half hour later laughing at some of the Gremlins gross and violent antics. The film has a real sense of humour and a tongue in it’s cheek. There are numerous, outlandish Gremlin slayings involving food blenders, microwaves and remote control cars. There is loads of laugh out loud moments of Gremlins getting drunk, firing guns, driving cars and watching films in the cinema.

I can’t really write an impartial review of this film, as it was one of my favourites growing up. I love the theme tune, the monsters, Phoebe Cates and hell, even Mrs Deagle! It might not be about Christmas, but it’s certainly one I dig out every year.

4 clappers

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

7 comments

  1. Great review, I used to always find the gremlins creepy yet also funny.

  2. I also really liked this film as a kid, but I didn’t think it was very funny – more like terrifying!!

  3. Pingback: The Gremlin | emilykarn

  4. Pingback: Holiday Movies to Share: Gremlins | My thoughts on Movies

  5. Pingback: Review: Gremlins | Nameless Horror

  6. Pingback: THE CHRISTMAS MOVIE ADVENT CALENDER…REVISITED | MOVIES & MUSIC CAFE

Leave a comment