AN AUTUMN, WINTER SOUNDTRACK

OK, so, Summer is officially over. Most of us are about to get seriously depressed at the lack of UV beating down upon us (less so if, like me, you are from the UK).

But, it doesn’t have to be that way. Embrace the rest of the year. It’s about to get romantic.

Autumn leaves on the ground. Warm coats. Walking hand in hand. Log fires. A beautiful time of year. And to my mind, what makes it even more beautiful, is music.ImageI have desperately been scouring the internet for ideas for Autumn and Winter playlists. And I don’t mean songs with the words Autumn or Winter in them. I mean songs that ‘feel’ like those seasons. Songs that feel cold, introspective, dark. I think my past memories and recollections inform what songs I associate with these seasons. Some memories are so ingrained in my head that maybe there isn’t a song qualified enough to soundtrack it? Either way, I’m not having a whole lot of success in soundtracking the next few months, and the clock is ticking!

An example for me would be:

When I used to drive home from work in the Winter, with dark nights offset by headlights and lamp posts, I would always listen to the Tom Waits song “A Sight For Sore Eyes” and it really set the scene for me as it were. So, maybe you have a favourite song that you listen to on headphones whilst sitting on the bus watching the wintery world go past? Or a favourite album that you listen to, mug of cocoa in hand, sat next to the fire gazing out of the window at the leaves being blown around by the wind?

So, this is where you come in. Let me know your favourite songs that make you ‘feel’ like it’s Autumn or Winter. I don’t want Autumn Almanac by the Kinks, and I don’t want any Christmas songs. Together, lets build a soundtrack to beat all soundtracks and help us be melancholy but cosy over the next few months.

Tweet me at @thomasjford

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

3 comments

  1. I’m not sure what it is about autumn and winter, but as others feel the waves of depression sweep into their lives, I’m busy away at my creative peak. A CD that’s always on my autumn playlist is “Windham Hill 25 Years of Guitar: Touch”. It’s one of those albums that have these very reflective and pensive pieces. You can find it on Amazon here: http://www.amazon.com/Windham-Hill-25-Years-Guitar/dp/B00005JXSJ/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1380129928&sr=8-3&keywords=windham+hill I’m not sure if you’ll be able to get it in your region, but it’s worth a shot.

  2. Hi Jack

    I really find Autumn especially a beautiful time of year. There is something about the slight chill in the air, the brown leaves and the dark evenings. It almost begs you to have a slight melancholy air to you. Maybe its to do with applying old memories to the particular season? Thanks for the hint and tip about your choice of Autumn soundtrack, I’ll check it out!

    cheers

    Tom

  3. Pingback: 100TH POST!!! | MOVIES & MUSIC CAFE

Leave a Reply

