WORLD WAR Z (2013)

MV5BMTg0NTgxMjIxOF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMDM0MDY1OQ@@._V1_SX214_

Starring: Brad Pitt, Mireille Enos, James Badge Dale, Matthew Fox, Peter Capaldi, David Morse

Directed by: Marc Forster

Synopsis: United Nations employee Gerry Lane traverses the world in a race against time to stop the Zombie pandemic that is toppling armies and governments, and threatening to destroy humanity itself.

There has been a lot written about this film. Not all positive. The budget was huge, numerous script rewrites, reshoots, the involvement of Damon Lindelof. The critics were just waiting to use these sticks to beat it with.

So, it was with mild trepidation that I sat down to watch World War Z over the weekend. And I was pleasantly surprised I have to say. It’s a solid action movie with some fantastic special effects. I’ve not read the book so can’t say whether the film strays far from it (apparently it does) but I can say, maybe because I haven’t read the book, I enjoyed this from start to finish.

I’m no horror movie fan, so can’t claim to have seen hundreds of Zombie films. But the undead in WWZ must surely rank as the most terrifying of the lot (maybe 28 Days Later runs them close). They are not the usual brain dead, snail paced, rotting ghouls that we all know so well. They are aggressive. Very aggressive. And they don’t drag their feet when they walk. Because, they don’t walk, they RUN. They are like a dog chasing a bone. They won’t stop until they have got it (or been shot in the head). They will literally headbutt car windscreens until they get their prey. They will jump off buildings like Lemmings, they will climb over each other to get to their victim.

Brad Pitt is decent enough as the hero. Just the right side of ‘family man’. Too much the other way and it would have become yet another ‘man versus the world’ action movie, of which there are far too many. And maybe that is why I liked this so much. Yeah, it’s not 100% perfect (Brad’s family get short shrift when it comes to character development) but all in all, I would rate this movie with:

3.5 clappers

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

5 comments

  1. World War Z is one of those movies that has to go through multiple viewings to catch all the slight details the film has to offer. I’ve seen it countless times already, but I don’t count…I’m not your typical zombie fan, since I write about them too! But the movie is shear Adrenalin for us undead junkies. The opening scenes in traffic is one of the best on film ever shot for an action movie!

    • I agree Jack. Numerous scenes in the film were well thought out and heart stoppingly great. I’m not a huge horror movie fan, so can’t claim to have seen hundreds of Zombie movies. What would you say is your favourite?

      • I would have to go with Zombieland. It has a perfect mix of scares and comedic timing to instill believability to the plot!

      • Yeah Zombieland is pretty cool eh. Also, being British I am partial to Shaun of the Dead. How about you? I don’t know if ‘Zom-coms’ count though?!!

      • Ha! They all count! Love Shaun. I’d wanted to mention that one but Zombieland stuck in my mind more!

Leave a Reply

