THE HANGOVER PART III (2013)

hangover

Starring: Bradley Cooper, Zach Galifianakis, Ed Helms, Ken Jeong, John Goodman, Heather Graham, Melissa McCarthy

Directed by: Todd Phillips

Synopsis: When one of their own is kidnapped by an angry gangster, the Wolf Pack must track down Mr. Chow, who has escaped from prison and is on the lam.

I don’t know if I should have watched the penultimate episode of Breaking Bad before undertaking this. It only served to highlight how absolutely terrible this film is.

The third part in the trilogy sees the wolf pack getting into yet more scrapes. But guess what, for the finale of all finales (not even Breaking Bad’s finale will top it I’m sure) they are in…Vegas!!! No way! This is the laziest film I’ve watched in a long time. I laughed not once. NOT ONCE.

I enjoyed the first film at the time. It wasn’t a laugh riot, but it exceeded the six laugh test fairly easily. Then came Part II. Basically a carbon copy of the first one, but set in Bangkok. I would say there may have been two or three laughs in that one, so no where near good enough. Imagine my, and probably most of the movie going populations, surprise and horror when I heard that The Hangover was to be a trilogy. That is called cynical money making at it’s very best. And the film does nothing to hide that.

I watched it, only because my wife wanted to ‘finish off the trilogy’. She didn’t even want to watch it particularly, she just felt duty bound to do so. And her loyalty was not rewarded. In fact, Alan, Chow and co were so astoundingly unfunny that I am now questioning if the first one was actually ever funny. I tend to think that if I went back to watch it now it would have been ruined by the two that came after.

I’m not going to go into plot or anything because, frankly, The Hangover Part III doesn’t deserve it. And it doesn’t really matter who says how bad it is, people in their droves would have gone to the cinema to see it, and will no doubt buy the DVD as well. Poor souls.

0.5 clappers

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

Leave a Reply

