BLOGGING. A YOUNG PERSONS GAME?

Why on earth have I started a blog at the age of thirty-three? Surely it is the domain of young pups with interesting lives? Not married fathers who don’t do much other than go to work and then go to bed. It certainly looks that way from this side of the fence. I see fantastic blogs which look brilliant. Clearly a lot of time and attention is spent on them. Time I never seem to have. And the content! Unbelievable! All sorts of interesting photos of interesting goings on. With the indie soundtrack to back it all up. These bloggers are well read, they watch clever movies and they have a gift for photography.

 

Image

 

I watch what movies my wife fancies watching (although she will contest this vociferously), I rarely get time to listen to music any more (apart from in my car) and I read books about dead rock stars more than anything else (although I am trying to change that). I do take a decent photo sometimes though (please see one of my previous posts).

At last count I had a following of 15 people, all of you are no doubt loyal, devout readers of this blog. So I owe it to you to keep going don’t I? Maybe I will never get more than 15 followers. Does it even matter? I don’t even know how to get more readers. Do I pretend to be interesting? Or do I write what I know, which means my blog would be even more boring? Every entry would read something like:

  • Wake up
  • See my son
  • Eat Breakfast
  • Go to work
  • Come home from work
  • See my son
  • Eat dinner
  • Put my son down to sleep
  • Watch a film
  • Go to bed

Now, I like my life, a lot. But I don’t for one minute think anyone else wants to hear about it. I no longer go to interesting places, I don’t have the money to eat in posh restaurants, I never have anyone to go to gigs with and I rarely venture to the cinema anymore. 

The trouble is, I don’t feel thirty-three! I still think I’m twenty-three. I still scan the review sections in the monthly music magazine to see what new bands I can listen to. Same goes for the latest indie movie releases (my wife even lets me watch them sometimes)! Hell, I even bought, for my thirtieth, a skateboard, just because I like it. Have I been on it much in the last three years? NO! Way too scary. But it’s there if I want to feel young and cool!

So, why have I started a blog at thirty-three? Maybe as a hobby. Maybe as a misguided attempt to one day make some sort of money (again, I wouldn’t even know how to do that). But probably overall it is to stay young, vital and connected with the world and technology.

 

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

11 comments

  1. I saw your post on Steven’s blog. You write really well! I’ve followed you, keep the posts coming. 🙂

  2. This is the only time I’ve been to your website.
    Thnx for sharing more details.

  3. I know what you mean, I started my blog last November at the ripe old age of 33 (I turned 34 just after) and honestly thought, ‘who’s going to care about my life?’ But honestly, blogging becomes really addictive when you get to know a few people as people and not just usernames, and you look forward to their posts. As you comment on people’s posts, you get to know more people and so your online social circle gets bigger. My husband has a brain injury that means we can’t go out, so I do tend to live my life vicariously through everyone online, but I really enjoy having a window to the world. You get out what you put in. Lots of people blog about films, which you say you like watching, and I’ve added so many films to my LoveFilm list through people’s recommendations on blogs. I think your blog’s fab 😀

    • Hi Jenny, thanks for the kind words! This blogging thing really is addictive you’re right. I try and do one post every day if I can and if I don’t and I look at my stats and have no views I feel real gutted haha!

      I just checked your own blog out and it’s really cool. I liked your recent post, the party in the park bit with Let Loose brought back memories of being a teenager!

      • I’m so glad that you decided to carry on and didn’t just jack it in! I know so many people on WordPress now, it’s fabulous! I’m lactose intolerant so I follow a lot of vegan blogs and there are so many recipes I’m dying to try now! Thanks for saying my blog’s cool. I’ve not been blogging much recently as I have a backlog of people’s posts to read, but once I’m all caught up, I’ll be back to blogging! 😀

      • Haha, a backlog of posts! I wish I had that problem!!! I have to work, and have a two year old son so I usually manage to fit in a post a day but don’t always get time to interact on other blogs unfortunately. I think I need to dedicate time on the weekends to do a bit.

        I’ll be sure to keep an eye out for your updates though!

      • I work office hours, and my husband is an author so I spend the rest of the time I’m not in work/not asleep editing his books, or blogging, or reading other people’s posts. I follow over 400 blogs so I set up a specific yahoo address and I have the email setting set to on for everyone. I set up filters on my yahoo so everyone has their own folder, so I don’t end up with a humongous inbox. It works really well for me. I fit the blogging in where I can 😀

      • You sound like you have your work cut out as well! Not enough hours in a day!

        The email solution sounds wise though. I really need to get my head round some of the blogging universe so I can impact on it better.

      • I would definitely let WordPress and your email peeps do the work for you! I read the blog post in my email preview pane and I only click on the post if it’s interesting, so I vet the emails first so it’s very quick to whizz through them all. I know, life’s busy but I wouldn’t have it any other way! Anyway, I’m glad you decided to carry on blogging 😀

      • Thanks jenny. See you around!

Leave a Reply

