SPRING BREAKERS (2013)

Image

Starring: James Franco, Vanessa Hudgens, Selena Gomez, Ashley Benson, Rachel Korine

Director: Harmony Korine

Synopsis: Four college girls hold up a restaurant in order to fund their spring break vacation. While partying/drinking/taking drugs they are arrested only to be bailed out by a drug and arms dealer.

Wow. This is an odd movie. Maybe I am not deep enough to understand the message behind it.

I’m guessing if you asked Harmony Korine why his movie is just endless shot after endless shot of slow-mo half naked females jumping up and down to throbbing dance music he would say it is artistic and it has a deeper meaning and if I don’t get that then I am some sort of philistine. Well, call me a philistine, but I didn’t get it.

There appears to be a very thin plot consisting of four girls who need money to go on spring break, so they steal some. In between gratuitous shots of bouncing breasts and buttocks they eventually meet James Franco’s quite frightening rapper (yes, that IS James Franco) where they proceed to carry out some more armed robbery.

Harmony Korine has of course got form when it comes to controversial movies, having directed the notorious Kids all those years ago. Whilst this is no where near as inflammatory, I’m guessing there may have been a few feminists beating down his door. As a red blooded male even I got slightly tired of seeing the naked women on show seemingly every five minutes. That is absolutely no exaggeration either by the way. It all seemed rather gratuitous, but maybe that was the point. I’m not sure what THE point was mind. It just seemed like some one had given a teenage boy a video camera and said “this is your free pass to look at as many naked women as you want. WITH THEIR PERMISSION” High five! Whoop!

The film does spring to life slightly with the introduction of James Franco, and I have to admit the sight of the corn-rowed, gold toothed, tattooed Franco playing and singing a Britney Spears song on piano, on an outside patio with the sun setting and surrounded by girls in bikinis and balaclavas holding machine guns DID make me laugh. Maybe that was the clue to what Korine was getting at with this movie? Maybe it was supposed to be WTF? kind of movie.

All I felt when watching it was, if only this had been released when I was thirteen, I still wouldn’t have got the message, but it sure beats Baywatch. As I’m twenty years older, I’m afraid it passed me by on almost every level.

1.5 clappers

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

7 comments

  1. Interesting review on a film that seems to really split opinion.

    • Yeah I thought it was trying to be arty and pretentious and came across as sleazy, juvenile and pretentious! The 4 out of 10 is for the James Franco playing Britney Spears on piano though!

      • I wrote a review on this movie a while back, you should check it out if you’re interested.

      • I’ll take a look Vinnie, I’ll be interested I see what you think. Probably the total opposite!

      • I’ll check it out Vinnie. No doubt your opinion is probably opposite to mine! I actually didn’t detest the WHOLE movie (I liked the dreamy, druggy kind of feel to some parts), I think I just hate the fact that some people could take a shit and people would still call it a diamond. Harmony Korine seems to be one of those people to me. And this film can be analysed to death but to me it’s still basically just naked chicks jumping up and down in slow motion!

  2. Pingback: Spring Breakers (2012) | Movie2Backup

  3. Pingback: 100TH POST!!! | MOVIES & MUSIC CAFE

Leave a Reply

