WHEN IS THE RIGHT TIME TO GET YOUR OWN DOMAIN?

Image

I’ve been blogging for three weeks now. It seems like ages but in reality it’s only 21 days. The trouble is I get ahead of myself and let the road marked Excitement carry me away to Disappointmentville.

I wrote a script fairly recently, and by chance met someone who said he can pass it on to some industry bods. I met them, they seemed ok, I gave them my script rather naively due to my excitement, and haven’t heard much since. I’m not saying I never will, but I’m realistic to know that I am dreaming if I think the phone will ring.

I am (compared to most others I’m sure) slowly getting a small following of rather nice bloggers and friends but I want more, more, more all the time. I want 10,000 followers already! Why haven’t I? What’s wrong with me? Is it my content? My site? My tags?

To be honest, I have crafted my site into something that I would be more than happy to visit. I think it looks nice, it seems quite organised and there are some nice articles on it. Obviously three weeks is no time at all in the blogosphere. So I KNOW I’m getting ahead of myself but I just can’t stop myself.

So, to refer to the question that heads this post, when do I consider paying a monthly fee to have my own ‘wordpress’ free address? Is it now, right from the off? Or is it in a years time? Or never?

Do I need X amount of followers before I even consider it, or do I need to start advertising and offering a service to make it worthwhile?

As I am new to this, I would love to hear what advice people can give about such matters. So please, get in touch and let me know.

Thanks

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

4 comments

  1. Good luck with your blogging!

  2. I had the same thoughts as you. I am a writer and knew that it would be smart of me to snatch up my book’s title in domain before someone else does. So, I bit the bullet and bought the domain name from Go Daddy. It’s a smart move and when the time right, I will move my wordpress blog over there. It doesn’t cost much and you look like a forward thinker to those in the industry. πŸ™‚ Just my thoughts. πŸ™‚

    • Good words of wisdom, thank you! When I actually have money I will definitely go down that path I think. Maybe I will set myself a target of getting 250 followers or something first (I have no idea what a realistic number is, some people seem to get thousands of followers in a matter of weeks)!

Leave a Reply

