Track Listing (key track in bold)

1. One of These Days
2. Big Love
3. Will You Love Me
4. Gone Away
5. Steady Pace
6. Hot Toddies
7. Brazos

Did you ever here about that great lost album from 1971? It is so obscure that even critics and publications have never mentioned it. They simply didn’t know about it. But how could they NOT know about it? It was recorded by a super group featuring The Band, Curtis Mayfield, Harry Nilsson and The Staple Singers. They called it Big Inner and just to deceive everyone still further, they put a big hairy white guy on the front cover and pretended his name was Matthew E. White. Crazy huh.

Seriously though, this album has all those elements and more in the stew. It is at once uplifting and gentle, funky and beautiful, soulful and jazzy and everything in between. It’s not too short, it’s not too long. It’s just right.

Well done Matthew E White for creating one of my favourite albums of this year!

4 guitars

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s