NaNoWriMo: Because This Exists, and the World Needs Better

A good article about writing and trying to get motivated. If you are an aspiring writer, check out NaNoWriMo and see if you can come up with something over the month of November. It’s a tough ask but it might be the nudge you need! If only I could take my own advice!

Nice post Rachel

Rachel Peterson: writer. reader. occasional wanderer.

This November, I’m trying National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). 30 days, 50,000 words – that’s about 1,667 words per day. And I am terrified.

Generally, I write short form fiction and poetry. I’ve started countless novels, but they’re all currently lying about in various stages of abandonment. I have trouble finishing what I start, and I don’t know if it’s just because I don’t plan properly, or I get bored, or I don’t do enough research. But for one reason or another, I’ve never finished a novel. And I would really, really like to.

I owe this adventure mainly to a couple of very creative friends of mine. You can check out two of their blogs here and here. The point of NaNoWriMo is not to create a brilliant masterpiece or shining work of literary genius, although I’m sure some people will. It’s more about giving you the push…

View original post 276 more words

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

Leave a Reply

