INCEPTION (2010)

inception

Starring: Leonardo Di Caprio, Ellen Page, Tom Hardy, Michael Caine, Joseph Gordon Levitt, Cillian Murphy, Ken Watanabe, Marion Cotillard

Directed by: Christopher Nolan

Synopsis: A skilled extractor is offered a chance to regain his old life as payment for a task considered to be impossible.

So, following my article entitled “Do You Have To Be Clever To Be A Writer” (link below), I was set a challenge by Cara to come up with a review of Inception, and thus counteract my own claim that I am not ‘deep’ enough to get movies and art.

https://thomasjford.wordpress.com/2013/10/23/do-you-have-to-be-clever-to-be-a-writer/

Now, obviously I accepted this challenge in a matter of seconds. I’m not sure why though. I knew that I wouldn’t be able to produce the goods, or even scratch the surface of the film, despite declaring that I ‘Got it’ after watching it. And I genuinely do think I understood it. However, writing about it is another thing.  So, I hope you enjoy the article, and if it is terrible, please remember I always knew it would be, and blame Cara instead!

Inception – An Overview

Ok, so the movie is a couple of years old now, so most people who are going to see it probably have. If not, it is a film about being able to access people’s subconscious and steal secrets. This is done whilst they are dreaming, and it is done by Leonardo Di Caprio, Tom Hardy, Ellen Page and Joseph Gordon-Levitt amongst others. It is a take on the ‘one last job’ film, but instead of having to steal a secret, the team have to plant one.

Oh, and it’s an absolutely awesome movie.

The Nitty Gritty

This is one complex movie considering it was a huge summer blockbuster. It proved to Hollywood (but ultimately failed, judging by all the superhero movies that have come out since) that you can sell a complicated film to a audiences, without dumbing down. It is one of those films that, whilst you watch it your brain is saying “I think I know what’s going on here” but ultimately you have no idea. Maybe it’s just best to forget the complicated structure and themes and just go along for the ride, because it is a great ride, with some amazing set pieces. Maybe, if you looked into it all too deeply, the plot and authenticity would just fall apart anyway?

I, however, felt upon viewing it at the time, that I understood what it was about. If only on a surface level kind of way. I haven’t seen it for some time now, so forgive me if I get things mixed up a bit (Cara kind of sprung this on me!) but here goes anyway:

Despite it’s headache inducing complexity you can see why Inception was such a big hit. Di Caprio, for my money, is one of the best actors of his generation, and two more rising stars in Tom Hardy and Joseph Gordon-Levitt join him. This isn’t a film just about the guys though, as Ellen Page and Marion Cottilard put in fine performances as well.

From the opening scene right through to the close, there is some amazing action going on here. The famous ‘zero gravity’ fights, the shoot outs in the snow, the crumbling buildings in the dreamscape, the film looks great. Some of it is standard action fare dressed up a bit maybe, but because the story is fairly unique, and the actors of such a high calibre, you don’t really notice.

The other problem the film could have suffered from is, given the subject matter and it’s hard to grasp nature, taking itself too seriously. Di Caprio’s character certainly does, but thanks to lighter moments from Tom Hardy’s character in particular the film never disappears up it’s own behind.

As I have said in my previous post, I don’t think I am deep enough of mind to look beyond a films surface, so couldn’t hope to put into words what Inception actually IS. Even if I think I know the answer in my brain, it just won’t transfer down to my fingers. So, after floundering for some time over this review, I’m going to cut it short and just post it and hope no one notices just how stupidly out of my depth I am!

Next week’s review, The Expendables. Surely there isn’t any hidden meaning behind that film is there?!!

5 clappers

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

6 comments

  1. Nice post, it can be confusing as a film but I think that’s the point.

  2. I found it really confusing 5 out of 10 tops, when the buildings start falling in on themselves and the dream sequences keep changing very odd. I prefer the more shallow DiCaprio films like Catch Me If You Can 😉

    • thomasjford

      Haha fair do’s, it is a complicated film but still a great one i think. Catch Me If You Can is a good one though yeah 😊

  3. rtimmorris

    Nice attempt Thomas! I think your next step should be trying to write something complicated, or at the very least, something you THINK is too complicated for yourself to write. You might surprise yourself. No sense going into a screenplay with the idea that you’re dumbing it down or that it’s not any deeper than what it appears to be.

Leave a Reply

