GRAVITY (2013)

gravity

Starring: Sandra Bullock and George Clooney

Directed by: Alphonso Cuaron

Synopsis: A medical engineer and an astronaut work together to survive after an accident leaves them adrift in space.

The logline above sounds fairly mundane, no? I mean, not REALLY boring, but not heart pounding, nail biting gripping stuff. Well, this film is exactly those two things, and just happens to be about the best looking film I have ever seen. Ever.

This is quite simply the best, most thrilling cinematic experience I’ve ever had. I’m not one for the whole 3D thing, but this film was MADE for such technology, and if you don’t go and see it in IMAX 3D then you are doing yourself and the film a disservice.

So much has been said about this film already, and every review I have read has given it five stars. There doesn’t seem to be a bad word to say about it. And you won’t get any here either!

There isn’t much of a plot so to speak, other than two peoples battle to save themselves from the vast empty space around them. But then, that’s enough of a plot isn’t it? What you don’t expect is the really human emotions found within the film. A couple of scenes were incredibly sad. This isn’t just some emotionless techie space film.

Clooney and particularly Bullock are both excellent, guiding the entire movie themselves. They must have been battered and bruised after filming this, and I almost felt the same way coming out of the cinema!

Never has a film left me gaping at the screen in wonder at how unbelievably amazing it looks. It makes me wonder if it would stand up as well if watched in 2D.

When all is said and done, I can only give Gravity top marks like everyone else, so my score for the film is

5 clappers

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

10 comments

  1. Sounds like a must-watch film! Thanks Thomas, I will definitely check it out! 🙂

  2. rtimmorris

    I definitely do want to check this out; heard a lot of great things. 10 out of 10 though? That’s high praise!

    • thomasjford

      That might be hyperbole in a years time Tim, but right now it seems the correct score! Look forward to your opinion!

  3. I didn’t really fancy watching this but I might give it a chance now.
    My favourite Bullock films are – Miss Congeniality, Blind Side and my favourite The Proposal (I love Romcoms)

    • thomasjford

      You absolutely HAVE to Charlotte, it is astoundingly amazing. More of an experience than a movie! You will be drained by the end of it!

      My fave Bullock movie? Speed!

  4. I wanted this last night and literally didn’t know what to do with myself – I almost had a panic attack! Haha.
    I just wrote my review so was intrigued to see what you thought and I’m glad you liked it. I didn’t see it in the cinema as it goes and I enjoyed it just as much as everyone who did see it in the cinema. I’m sure I did miss out on pretty amazing 3D experience but even from my computer screen I still saw how amazing the graphics were. I cried so much and now I’m just sitting here listening to the soundtrack crying again. One of THE BEST films I’ve ever seen!

  5. Really need to see this film ASAP. Great review as always.

  6. Pingback: LOCKE (2014) | MOVIES & MUSIC CAFE

Leave a Reply

