GUEST BLOG – STEVEN FOX

Most of you probably already subscribe to Steven’s wildly successful blog (400,00 plus hits and 12,000 followers) but if you don’t, here is his recent post, which does a great job of showcasing his site and what it’s all about…

Why I Write My Blog

Posted by 

It’s no secret that I write a lot on my blog. I probably write maybe three or four posts a day and to say my success so far has surprised me would be an understatement.

sfoxwriting

When I first started it I wasn’t sure what to think, I mean ok I’ve written a poetry book but why would anyone be seriously interested in what I have to say ? I’m nothing special, well I’m fantastic but still why me when there are already millions of people already blogging.

I set my goals out early , I wanted growth month upon month , I was eventually set the target of 1,000,000 views in a year of blogging , while this is obviously a massive target in which many people never reach after years of blogging , I’m starting to believe I can do it .. Why? Because I’ve seen my growth from 100 views in a day within the first month all the way up to around 3000-5000 views a day now. What’s changed?

I’m not really sure but I’ll tell you one thing I couldn’t be more grateful to all of you that have and continue to view my blog and see what I have to say .

I’ve tried numerous things to try and get more views and viewers and some things work, others not so much, but with the 6 months I’ve been doing this now I’m now comfortable in what works and what doesn’t.

How do I manage continual growth?

Engage with the comments people leave, give the lovely people who look at the blog what they want and most of all I comment and view other people’s blogs.

At the moment im up to around 400,000 views and nearly 6,000 followers on wordpress and nearly 12,000followers in total.

When I started my blog its certain that I didn’t know what to write , I was finding my feet in a big new world and I wasn’t sure how to go about it . My first couple of posts ended up with massive errors in how I wrote them and how I marketed them to the public. As time went on I became more confident with things and realised that while I had been using the blog to help myself that maybe it was time I could help others.

The reason I started blogging in the first place was to get my confidence up , I suffered from slight depression , not full blown and I will hopefully never ever know what that feels like but all I knew was the writing element in my life helped me get through things. The poetry book I wrote with my friend helped me for around two years while we wrote it but after that was finished I felt a hole in my life , my creativity monster needed to have its cravings satisfied , the blog gave me the chance to help others and make sure I was happy in myself at the same time.

My poetry is a large part of my life , it gives me a different way to express myself which isn’t usually done by people as young as me . It is a shame that poetry doesn’t get the recognition that it deserves these days but personally it holds a strong place within me since I read Dante’s the divine comedy.

Below is a list of the poems I have posted on my blog

Music is a large part of my life and I would say I’m quite knowledgeable in the area, I love posting songs on my blog and seeing the reaction it gets from my followers, it is evident that my taste in music (rock!) isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, but I like to think that I’ve started to sway a couple of people into a new genre of music which before they were not interested in. You see rock music and all its subgenres are so clever. They cover all ranges of emotions and a lot of these emotions are not covered in other genres of music simply for one reason … They are afraid.

Please see below my review of saturday at the download music festival from this year

I write my blog as a way of meeting new people from all around the world and my own country, this to me is a wonderful thing and I hope to continue to make new friends from this method.

Because of this i wish to improve the amount of blog posts i write about my travels as i go on them here is my blog post about my time in America.

I try to use my blog as a way of showing people how to do things , which is evident in my list of how to guides, below is the list of hwo to guides , please check them out , and share them on social networks sites.

So what’s the future of my blog?

Well for a start I want to continue making people happy , whether that’s by showing people that its ok to be a certain way , by opening other people’s eyes to someone else’s situation or by simply enjoying my posts.

I wish to eventually reach my goal of one million views, I want to do it within the time frame I’ve been set but I’m also aware that this might not be possible.

In the future I will be posting more and more things about my upcoming novel Moonstone as the information becomes available to me and I will share snippets of it with you where I see appropriate.

What can you do to help me?

Well I know this is the section of this blog post that most people will stop reading at and that’s ok, and I understand and hold nothing against you, however if you continue to read I’ll be eternally grateful.

Ways to help me

twitter

sfoxwriting blog fb

book

  • Click on the share buttons below this post and my other posts and spread the word of my blog

Ways to use this post to help yourself

  • Add an explanation and a link to your blog in the comments section at the bottom of the page ( please reblog if you do this)
  • Engage in conversation with new people and grow your blog

Thankyou for your support and for reading

Steven

300152_10151484361356597_1650314252_n

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

4 comments

  1. Great post, I just started following his blog and it sure is great to read.

  2. sfoxwriting

    thanks for this Thomas 🙂

Leave a Reply

