PRISONERS (2013)

Image

Starring: Hugh Jackman, Jake Gyllenhaal, Viola Davis, Maria Bello, Terrence Howard, Paul Dano, Melissa Leo

Directed by: Denis Villeneuve

Synopsis: When Keller Dover’s daughter and her friend go missing, he takes matters into his own hands as the police pursue multiple leads and the pressure mounts. But just how far will this desperate father go to protect his family?

POSSIBLE SPOILER ALERT AHEAD

Prisoners has been a pretty big box office smash around the world, and largely it is easy to see why. It currently holds an 8.1 rating on IMDb which is praise enough perhaps, but I just think that rating is either a bit too generous, or could even have been a bit higher if not for the ending.

Two of it’s two and a half hour run time are excellent. It is a well acted thriller, which I thought was reminiscent of another Gyllenhaal film, ‘Zodiac’. The trouble is, it kind of resorts to a Hollywood by numbers ending which tempers the brilliance of the rest of the movie. The movie did a good job of spinning a web as to who the kidnapper was, and did it intelligently and stylishly. But then when all was said and done it came down to the usual cars weaving at speed through traffic and bad guys telling you their life story whilst holding a gun against the good guys. It was a slight anticlimax.

It also raises some moral questions, about just how far you would go if one of your own children went missing. Hugh Jackman’s character would certainly go VERY far! Jackman and Gyllenhaal are both excellent (if you can ignore Jake’s strange blinking throughout the film).  The supporting cast all played their parts well and I was really locked in to the movie throughout. But alas, it fell at the final hurdle.

So, a good effort, and for the most part a high scoring movie, but because of the average ending, I will rate Prisoners

4 clappers

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

6 comments

  1. Sue

    But it has Hugh Jackman in it! That should be worth an extra point or two all on it’s own! 😉 Haven’t seen it yet, but it is on my list. Good to know I can say I liked it because of the story, and not just because my imaginary boyfriend is in it. lol

    • Haha! Don’t get me wrong Sue, I really really liked the film, I thought nearly all of it was excellent, just let down by a slightly ‘by the numbers’ ending. 7.5 is good though isn’t it?!!

      But if you like Hugh, then I guess you will like this, although he’s a bit horrible in the film (depending on where your moral compass lays I guess)

  2. The ending didn’t bother me so much as the pace, after an hour it becomes very slow and tiresome, based on the first hour it deserves the high rating, based on the 2nd half it deserves a 6/10

    • Haha, I was the opposite, I was quite engrossed in it all until the reality kind of crumbled and we ended up with a derivative Hollywood car chase and bad guys kind of ending. Up to that point I thought it was excellent.

  3. Good review Thomas. The ending to me felt like it was what made the film work, despite most of what lead up to was a bit drawn-out. However, that cast surely made up for any problems felt whatsoever.

Leave a Reply

