BACHELORETTE (2012)

bach

Starring: Kirsten Dunst, Lizzy Caplan, Isla Fisher, Rebel Wilson, Adam Scott, James Marsden

Directed by: Leslye Headland

Synopsis: Three friends are asked to be bridesmaids at a wedding of a woman they used to ridicule back in high school.

Let’s get straight to the point, this movie is a total mess. At one point I thought I was watching Bridesmaids, then The Hangover, then some melodramatic indie romance drama, before suddenly watching Bridesmaids again. The cast seem out of place for some reason, apart from ex Party Downers Lizzy Caplan and Adam Scott who are both generally great in anything.

I think, as writer and director, Leslye Headland needs to take responsibility for the film. The script is just not funny. It has similarities with Bridesmaids, but the characters are so unlikeable. Bridesmaids was gross out, but at least Kristen Wiig and Melissa McCarthy and co were ultimately charming. These girls are just drink and drug guzzling morons. Isla Fisher’s character was so irritating that I cringed every time she was on screen. Kirsten Dunst was just kind of spoilt and spiteful and it says everything that as soon as Lizzy Caplan she was in a league of her own. As for casting the most obvious comedic actor of all of them, Rebel Wilson, in the ‘straight’ role. What?! Miss a trick or what?

The film did strange things, where one minute we are supposed to be laughing along with these girls as they hoover up coke and get smashed while being grim, self indulgent and actually quite nasty, and then cut away to Caplan and Scott having a heart to heart on a subway carriage about her having to have an abortion and him not turning up. Hang on a minute, am I supposed to be laughing or crying here? It just didn’t fit together at all.

I thought, despite it’s low score on IMDb, that I may find this funny because of some of the cast, but I was sadly mistaken. Lizzy Caplan and Adam Scott make sure the film gets any score at all:

1.5 clappers

 

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

9 comments

  1. Yeah, I skipped this one and looks like that was the right choice. I was intrigued by the cast (namely Kirsten Dunst), but looking at the trailer I sensed a bad and unfunny script..

  2. Yeah it really was terrible. I’m all for the girls behaving bad instead of the guys for once, but it still needs to be done with some sort of charm I think.

  3. Yay I thought this would be terrible! Thanks for the honest review! It sounds like they were trying to ride the wave of Bridesmaids’s success and failed miserably

  4. A part of me wishes these chicks just kept on being bitchy and mean to everybody around them, because when they got all sweet, nice and sincere at the end, it all just felt phony. Good review Thomas.

  5. Not my cup of tea anyway; and you review just confirmed it for me.

  6. Pingback: GUEST REVIEW – BACHELORETTE (2012) | MOVIES & MUSIC CAFE

Leave a Reply

