DRINKING BUDDIES (2013)

Image

Starring: Jake Johnson, Olivia Wilde, Anna Kendrick, Ron Livingston, Jason Sudeikis

Directed by: Joe Swanberg

Synopsis: Luke and Kate are co-workers at a Chicago brewery, where they spend their days drinking and flirting. They’re perfect for each other, except that they’re both in relationships.

I’ll start by saying this is the kind of film I really like. Where the only plot as such seems to be semi-real people shooting the proverbial excrement with each other. Films with little budget, meaning they are all about the characters and that’s it. There is nothing else to distract you. It does mean that the acting has to be top notch, and I thought on that front Drinking Buddies was brilliant.

Olivia Wilde was amazing in this. Better than anything else I’ve seen her in. Admittedly, she looked a bit too glamorous for a semi-alcoholic who has a more than her fair share of late nights partying. But considering the whole movie was more or less improvised she was great, as was Jake Johnson. Here is a guy that, after two seasons of New Girl, was really starting to get on my nerves. He seemed to have one ‘shouty’ tone and that was about it. So, maybe it is the addition of a handsome beard (I like beards) but he had a fantastic chemistry with Wilde, and also played a slightly ‘awkward, falling out of love’ kind of role with Anna Kendrick really well. There is obviously more to Johnson than ‘Nick from New Girl’.

I wouldn’t say the film was a comedy as such, there were funny moments, but not in a laugh out loud kind of way, just a ‘real’ kind of way. There were some cringe moments, some touching moments and most of all some moments that just made me want to hang out with Olivia Wilde and get drunk! Job done!

4 clappers

 

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

10 comments

  1. Definitely agree! This is the kind of film I love as well, Wilde is totally one of the best things about it and I gave it the same rating as you. I liked the ending, I thought it was pretty clever, right? 🙂

  2. Ha!! Ha!! of course you’d want to have a drink with Olivia Wilde, who wouldn’t.
    Isn’t she a ‘bit too glamorous’ in anything she comes in, whether the role demands it or not. She was good in ‘Butter’ (2011) though.
    I wasn’t that crazy about that Nick character from ‘New Girl’ either. I stopped watching that show altogether after sometime.

  3. rtimmorris

    This was on my To-See list, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet. Might still be worth checking out though as it sounds like my kind of movie too. Thanks!

  4. I think Olivia Wilde appeals to pretty much everyone, regardless of sexuality or gender haha

  5. Pingback: [FILM] Drinking Buddies « The Verbal Spew Review

  6. Pingback: HAPPY CHRISTMAS (2014) | MOVIES & MUSIC CAFE

Leave a Reply

