DAY 6 – THE NIGHTMARE BEFORE CHRISTMAS (1993)

The-Nighmare-Before-Christmas

Starring: Danny Elfman, Catherine O’Hara, Chris Sarandon, William Hickey, Paul Reubens

Directed by: Henry Selick

Synopsis: Jack Skellington, king of Halloweentown, discovers Christmas Town, but doesn’t quite understand the concept.

Welcome to the weird and wonderful world of Tim Burton everyone! If there was a director made for stop motion animation it is Burton and his gothic style. This is his first feature length attempt at the medium, and he subsequently followed it up with The Corpse Bride.

Everyone knows Tim Burton has a fascination with macabre stories that are full of odd bods and outcasts. This film is no different. The brave thing is, Burton has dared to apply it to Christmas! He even kidnaps Santa!

Despite it’s dark tone, this is still a charming film full of memorable characters and music. Jack Skellington is the hero and villain of the piece and is also the real star of the show. I must admit, the first time I watched this movie, several years ago now, I didn’t really get it, or like it. But having watched it again I loved every second of its run time. If you like any of Burtons later animated work like Frankenweenie, be sure to check this out.

4.5 clappers

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

7 comments

  1. A friend of ours loves this movie. I guess he watches it at least twice a year. The last time I watched it, I also started to like it a great deal. As I write this – I feel it is time for a rerun. 😉

  2. Great review, I used to love this movie when I was younger.

  3. Love Tom Burton, though his recent films haven’t been very good. (did you see the train wreck that was “Alice in Wonderland”?) My favorite Burton film is “Big Fish”

  4. Pingback: CHRISTMAS MOVIE REVIEW (DAY NINE) – SURVIVING CHRISTMAS (2004) | MOVIES & MUSIC CAFE

  5. Pingback: THE CHRISTMAS MOVIE ADVENT CALENDER…REVISITED | MOVIES & MUSIC CAFE

Leave a Reply

