DAY 10 – DECK THE HALLS (2006)

deckthehalls

Starring: Danny DeVito, Matthew Broderick, Kristen Davis, Kristen Chenoweth, Alia Shawkat

Directed by: John Whitesell

Synopsis: Two neighbors have it out after one of them decorates his house for the holidays so brightly that it can be seen from space.

I’ve realised that reviewing Christmas films is REALLY hard. Try as I might, I just end up liking most of them because I love Christmas, and the spirit that invades these kinds of films just hits me. Take Deck The Halls. This film is rubbish. There is no getting away from that. It’s even worse than Fred Claus. Yet I still watch it every year, and still enjoy it’s unashamedly sentimental heart. Just because it’s Christmas.

If someone said, “hey, you should check out the new film out about two feuding neighbours featuring Danny Devito and Matthew Broderick” I would obviously politely decline. But…

Broderick plays Steve, a guy who bores his family every year with his Christmas traditions.  The cutting of the tree, the lights etc etc. He is, if truth be told, a bit dull. Then fun old Danny Devito moves in opposite, with his crazy carefree family, and things get real strained between the two family patriarchs.

There are a few laughs to be had in this, a few slapstick moments here and there. Danny Devito, I think is pretty good in anything really, although that might just be because I’m an eighties child. Broderick is an actor I don’t like at all (discounting Ferris Bueller of course) so I can’t say I was routing for him. In fact, I’m not really sure who the ‘hero’ is because both guys are fairly unlikeable.

This is definitely one for hardcore Christmas movie afficoinados only I think, but seeing as I am, then it gets a score of:

2.5 clappers

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

4 comments

  1. Pingback: CHRISTMAS MOVIE REVIEW (DAY TWELVE) – JINGLE ALL THE WAY (1996) | MOVIES & MUSIC CAFE

  2. Pingback: CHRISTMAS MOVIE REVIEW (DAY SEVENTEEN) – THE MUPPET CHRISTMAS CAROL (1992) | MOVIES & MUSIC CAFE

  3. Pingback: CHRISTMAS MOVIE REVIEW (DAY NINETEEN) – MIRACLE ON 34th STREET (1994) | MOVIES & MUSIC CAFE

  4. Pingback: THE CHRISTMAS MOVIE ADVENT CALENDER…REVISITED | MOVIES & MUSIC CAFE

Leave a Reply

