DAY 17 – THE MUPPET CHRISTMAS CAROL (1992)

muppetscc

Starring: Kermit, Miss Piggy, Gonzo, Fozzy and Michael Caine

Directed by: Brian Henson

Synopsis: The Muppet characters tell their version of the classic tale of an old and bitter miser’s redemption on Christmas Eve.

Featuring the acting talents of nearly every muppet ever created, and a certain Michael Caine, this is another hit that is watched every Christmas. What’s not to like? It’s the Muppets!

A re-telling of A Christmas Carol (obviously) with Caine as Ebenezer Scrooge and Kermit as Bob Cratchit. It’s a fairly faithful retelling (I’m guessing, I haven’t actually read the book…) but it has a huge dose of Muppet style craziness and humour, meaning it is fantastic for kids as well as adults.

There are songs (happy ones and sad), there is hope and their is the opposite of hope (hopelessness?) and their is Michael Caine doing a great turn as Scrooge. There is no point going over the plot here because, let’s face it, everyone knows it anyway. All I will say is, if you are after an all singing, all dancing, cute, funny Christmas movie, which will also make you want to cry in places (at PUPPETS!!!) then go watch this instantly. It’s possible the best thing the Muppets have ever done!

4 clappers

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

16 comments

  1. Oh my God I LOVE this film! I don’t usually like Christmas films (I don’t usually like Christmas, period) but I love all the Muppet films & this one is definitely one of the best 🙂

  2. I sincerely love this movie! Every Christmas I watch it and just have a ball! “We’re Marley and Marley, oooooooh!”

  3. Your site is helpful, as I have yet to find a movie I approve of for my son. Most “for kids” are too violent with plenty of inappropriate images. I think about movies on the holidays (he’s never been to the theater) and this, actually, just might work. Thanks for the follow, btw, Thomas.

  4. giorge thomas

    This is one of my favourites! I prefer it to your standard feel-good Christmas movies as, like Jenny in Never Land, I don’t particularly like Christmas, either.

    • Another one who doesn’t like Christmas?!! I can’t believe this!

      • giorge thomas

        I used to be such a Christmas-lover. Full decoration, everything. Now I just think of all the stresses associated with it. Thinking of the right presents, all the social obligations. Hate the anxiety.

      • Just chuck another shrimp on the barbie and chill out instead 😉

  5. Pingback: THE CHRISTMAS MOVIE ADVENT CALENDER…REVISITED | MOVIES & MUSIC CAFE

Leave a Reply

