THE HOBBIT: THE DESOLATION OF SMAUG (2013)

hobbit

Starring: Ian McKellen, Martin Freeman, Richard Armitage, Ken Stott, Orlando Bloom, Evangeline Lilly, James Nesbitt

Directed by: Peter Jackson

Synopsis:ย The dwarves, along with Bilbo Baggins and Gandalf the Grey, continue their quest to reclaim Erebor, their homeland, from Smaug.

The anticipation of watching part two of the The Hobbit didn’t fill me with huge excitement. As much as I loved Lord of The Rings, I thought the first part of these new films was pretty average. Easily a six out of ten movie I think. You will be pleased to know part two is far better. The reason being, in my view, the focus is not just on the Dwarves.

The introduction of Legolas and the other Elves gives the film a shot in the arm, especially for the fans of the old trilogy. I just think, personally, that the Dwarves aren’t really interesting enough to carry a two and a half hour film on their own. They all look the same, sound the same and act the same to my eyes. And the whole theme of (certainly the first film) is basically running from the orcs. That’s about it. In the previous trilogy you had different strands to follow, with Frodo, Sam and Gollum, with Merry and Pippin and with Aragorn and co. The Hobbit is only a 100 page book, and it really shows, only justifying the claims that it should never have been given the three film treatment.

I have to give it some dues though, The Desolation of Smaug was pretty entertaining in places. The barrel ride down the river was great fun, almost like some level of a video game or something. Some of the scenes with Smaug were also impressive as well, although the ending was so so.

Overall, a vast improvement on the first film, but no where near the perfection of the Lord of the Rings trilogy, so I would rate this film a

3 clappers

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

13 comments

  1. An excellent review, Thomas! I like your view on movies very much. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Would you like to be featured in my 10 Statements column?

  2. Great review Thomas, I really need to see this movie.

  3. My little sister loves these movies, which means I’ll have to see them at some point. It’s good to hear that this one’s better!

    • They’re eventful enough to be enjoyable Davide. I do like an ‘epic’ so always love the LOTR films, but the Hobbit isn’t quite as good

  4. My problem with part I (I haven’t seen part II) was simple: It’s a kid’s book being turned into an adult action/adventure movie. I thought it lost the charm of the original Hobbit without gaining anything in the exchange. It was okay, but no better than that — for me, lifetime fan of Tolkien that I am (and I loved the Jackson LOTR movies). I’ll watch it when it gets to cable. I can contain my excitement until then. Nice review. The dwarves are a bit Disney for Tolkien, don’t you think?

    • I just found the first film incredibly drawn out, repetitive and a bit dull. I will have to take your word about the books because I have never read them, but in terms of the film, I thought the fact that the only characters who really featured were the Dwarves (who, indeed were a bit Disney). They just weren’t interesting compared with the likes of Legolas, Aragorn and Frodo.

      The good news is part two is better!

      • The books are a bit hard to get into, but if you get past the exposition at the beginning as Tolkien builds his world, it’s a total immersion experience. Consider the auiobook version (audible.com now has it available). It is possibly THE best audiobook ever recorded.

        The Hobbit is short — it’s a children’s storybook, so you can easily read that. LOTR is rather a bit of a project.

        Otherwise, I’ll take YOUR word for it that part II is better … but I’ll still wait for it to come to cable ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Good review Thomas. It’s an improvement over the first movie, but not much of one. It’s still too long and a tad bit unnecessary in spots. That said, I hope that Jackson can get his shit together and end this trilogy on a good note with this last movie. Here’s to hoping!

Leave a Reply

