DALLAS BUYERS CLUB (2014)

dallas

Starring: Matthew McConaughey, Jennifer Garner, Jared Leto, Denis O’Hare, Steve Zahn, Kevin Rankin

Directed by: Jean-Marc Vallee

Synopsis: In 1985 Dallas, electrician and hustler Ron Woodroof works around the system to help AIDS patients get the medication they need after he himself is diagnosed with the disease.

I hate to sound like a broken record, and my wife did indeed raise her eyebrows about watching this movie, but Matthew McConaughey proves beyond doubt that he is currently one of the key players in Hollywood at the moment. This is a performance that has Oscar written all over it. Not only did he lose an inordinate amount of weight to play the character of Woodroof, but he couples his physical transformation with some quality acting too. He is angry, funny, emotional, confrontational and a whole host of other things, and he owns the movie.

The movie is based on true events, although I knew nothing about the events going into the film, other than the synopsis I had read. It sounds like it’s going to be a bit of a slog, but it’s far from that, thanks to the acting chops of McConaughey as well as co stars Leto (makes a very convincing woman!) and Garner in particular.

It’s great to see Woodroof transform himself from a drink and drug loving homophobic good ol’ boy into a one man crusade against the pharmaceutical giants. You go from thinking he’s an asshole, to feeling sorry for him, to rooting for him by the end of the film.

The best thing about this film is that no one can slate me for having a man crush on McConaughey now, because I think he is amazing in this and there isn’t a set of abs in sight!

4.5 clappers

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

10 comments

  1. I couldn’t agree more with you about McConaughy. He’s gone from dire films such as Failure to Launch to The Dallas Buyer’s Club. Definitely one of the best actors of the moment – and I never thought I’d say that.

  2. Nice review man. Really looking forward to checking this out. I’ll watch anything with McConaughey in right now. Never thought I’d say that!

    • Haha like most people I think! Although to be honest even his rom coms are slight guilty pleasures of mine! I think it’s his charm that wins me over. And his early career was actually pretty decent as well if you have a look.

  3. Good review Thomas. Who knows what would have happened to this movie, had McConaughey and Leto not been in it. However, with them in it, it’s a great, very emotional pic that doesn’t always hit the right-notes, but when it does, you can’t help but have a smile on your face.

  4. Again very interesting review here. I don’t think you sound like a broken record. McConaughey seems to be coming in good roles one after another.
    Of course I do understand your wife having problem with you having a man crush on McConaughey though. HA!!
    looking forward to watching this.

  5. yes I KNEW you would love this!! I thought it was a great movie. The character is dying but also becoming a better person all the while. McConaughey just has an incredible amount of charisma so even though he’s despicable at the beginning of the movie, you’re still rooting for him to succeed once he gets his diagnosis. If he doesn’t get an Oscar nom I will be really surprised!

  6. I’m glad you’re on board with me about Matthew! He was amazing in this film, one of his beat yet I think! I watched his bit part in Wolf of Wall Street last night, he’s just got a charm to him even when he is playing unlikeable people.

Leave a Reply

