JACKASS PRESENTS: BAD GRANDPA (2013)

jackass

Starring: Johnny Knoxville, Jackson Nicoll, Spike Jonze, Christine Keeler

Directed by: Jeff Tremaine

Synopsis: 86-year-old Irving Zisman takes a trip from Nebraska to North Carolina to take his 8 year-old grandson, Billy, back to his real father.

I’ll start by saying I’m a big Jackass fan. But I prefer the crazy stunts than the hidden camera kind of stuff, so this won’t be a biased review. But this was FUNNY!

I didn’t think it would be as funny as it was. The reviews have been ho-hum and the concept of drawing out Irving Zisman for an hour and a half seemed to be stretching it a bit. And it kind of is, but it still works. And it had me crying with laughter at least ten times throughout the movie, which means it was a success in my book!

The film has a wafer thin plot, purely used as a vehicle for the zany stunts and comedy that Johnny Knoxville throws at us. There are some really funny physical comedy moments that I wasn’t expecting that had me in stitches. I did wonder if some of the supposed ‘real life’ people in the scenes weren’t actually actors. If not, they found themselves in some weird situations (why would they be at a strangers funeral for a start) that would certainly have had me running away very quickly.

Jackson Nicoll, who plays Irving’s grandson, is fantastically funny when confronting the public (I had to feel sorry for the guy he was calling Dad)! Both he and Knoxville build up a real bond which I think must have carried over into real life. There is a particular moment when the kid farts and curses, and Irving laughs but you can tell Knoxville actually breaks character and is laughing for real.

Let’s face it, Bad Grandpa isn’t going to win any best picture awards, and I’m sure Knoxville, Jonze and Tremaine wouldn’t have it any other way. This is just what it is, a bad mannered, gross, slightly creepy comedy. To sum it up, my wife is seven months pregnant and uncomfortable and needed cheering up last night, and I think this film really did the trick as she too laughed numerous times. So, job done!

3.5 clappers

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

11 comments

  1. I’ve heard mixed reviews on this film – my boyfriend went to see it and said it was hilarious but I literally don’t think I could sit through over an hour of Johnny Knoxville as that grandpa! Don’t get me wrong, I’m a HUGE Jackass and Johnny Knoxville fan but when I watch Jackass, the grandpa bits are the least funniest for me – I definitely prefer it when they’re hurting themselves haha so I guess it just depends on your sense of humour.

    I will probably get around to watching it at some point and it might surprise me, like it did for you 🙂 Great review though! 🙂 xx

    • I’m with you jenny, I prefer the stunts to the grandpa kind of stuff but this had stunts as well a hidden camera humour, so I would say you will get some good laughs!

  2. Johnny said in an interview that they positioned the “victims” by arranging couriers to pickup/drop off deliveries and then conned them into taking part in the madness. Jackson is a riot – I’ve got big hopes he turns into a comedy genius when he’s a bit older!

    • But what did you think about the funeral scene at the beginning? Why would all those people be at a strangers wedding?! They must have been actors meant they? Either way, I thought the film was real funny!

      • They were couriers as well, as he mentioned that in the interview. They were asked to attend a funeral on the spot to kinda pad the numbers, and the good natured people did!

      • Hmmm, I don’t buy that! Unless I’m just a horrible person! Would YOU go to the funeral of a person you didn’t know?!

      • No, I don’t think I’d feel comfortable to attend – but, if you were already at the funeral home and somebody pleaded with you to sit in for 15 minutes out of politeness you might.

      • True. I still don’t buy it though! Haha

  3. Good review Thomas. It’s crude, rude and definitely dirty, but it’s very funny and best of all, it’s played for kicks. Not like Sacha Baron Cohen’s flicks where they all have some sort of political-agenda attached to what’s going on.

  4. Pingback: Movie Monday – Bad Grandpa, Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2, Frozen | The Journey of Two

Leave a Reply

