ABOUT TIME (2013)

about

Starring: Domhnall Gleeson, Rachel McAdams, Bill Nighy, Lydia Wilson, Lindsay Duncan, Tom Hollander

Directed by: Richard Curtis

Synopsis: At the age of 21, Tim discovers he can travel in time and change what happens and has happened in his own life. His decision to make his world a better place by getting a girlfriend turns out not to be as easy as you might think.

About Time seems to be a fairly typical Richard Curtis movie. It’s about love and it has a foppish lead character, is about essentially posh middle to upper class people and is very sentimental and schmaltzy. And was actually really nice. Maybe it’s my age, but like my recent Christmas movie reviews, this film is the perfect antidote to all those cynical, violent and depressing flicks out there. It’s certainly not for everyone, but it definitely put me through the emotional rollercoaster, which is what movies are meant to do, aren’t they?

Domhnall ‘son of Brendon’ Gleeson does a good Hugh Grant impression in his role of the time travelling Tim. Bill Nighy does a good, well, Bill Nighy impression and the rest of the cast just tag along for the ride. Don’t take any of that as a criticism though, because I enjoyed all the performances. I laughed when I was supposed to laugh and I literally cried several times at the end. Maybe it’s a father/son thing?

The plot, I’m guessing, wouldn’t stand up to much scrutiny if you went looking for holes. But do you really need to sit and question why this didn’t happen, or this should have happened? Sometimes you just have to get swept up in it all. Much like Love Actually I could feel myself being manipulated into every emotion through the music etc, but I didn’t care one bit. The film is perhaps about 15-20 minutes too long, and it’s not as enjoyable as Love Actually in my opinion, but I still liked it very much.

3.5 clappers

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

13 comments

  1. Great review, Tom! Having read it – I might actually give this movie a try. 🙂

  2. Seems like a chick flick I could actually watch with my wife since there’s time travel involved.

  3. Time travel and shmaltz? Now that’s a combo I can relate to! Hopefully it will come to cable!

  4. Good review Thomas. Went on a little too long for my liking, however, I will give the movie some credit for at least tweaking the time-travel format just a bit.

  5. I might give this movie a shot, I was initially skeptical because I thought it was a Nicholas spark-like movie. Domhnall career looks promising from his time on Harry Potter and his small role in Dredd.

  6. Great review :). I actually was going to see this…now I am 😀

Leave a Reply

