THE SECRET LIFE OF WALTER MITTY (2014)

mitty

Starring: Ben Stiller, Kristen Wiig, Adam Scott, Sean Penn

Directed by: Ben Stiller

Synopsis: A day-dreamer escapes his anonymous life by disappearing into a world of fantasies filled with heroism, romance and action. When his job along with that of his co-worker are threatened, he takes action in the real world embarking on a global journey that turns into an adventure more extraordinary than anything he could have ever imagined.

I think by the description of this film I was hoping for some sort of “Forrest Gump on acid” thing, but it just never hit any great heights for me. It wasn’t overly funny, the adventures weren’t hugely exciting and the whole thing just felt a bit of a let down. In the words of Willy Wonka, I was hoping to escape to a world of pure imagination. Maybe it was just me, but I didn’t find that here.

The film starts off as a sort of ‘Office Space’ type comedy with moments of CGI action and a bizarre (fake or real?!?!) beard on the face of Adam Scott. Seriously, the beard?! Anyway, then the film turns in to some sort of globe trotting adventure in the hunt for some lost photo. The big trouble, for me, is that I never felt comfortable going from one to the other. For me, it would have worked better if the meek, quiet dreamer, Walter Mitty purely had these massive adventures in his head, but actually the task he has to complete was some what smaller but just as vital. I just didn’t buy into this guy suddenly becoming an all action hero when it turns out the adventure he goes on is very much real.

All of the cast are OK, without doing anything to stand out. Sean Penn throws in a nice cameo towards the end. Ben Stiller appears to be in a bit of a career crossroads now, and I’m not sure this film will necessarily show him the correct path to take. Kristen Wiig, I think we can all agree is pretty funny, but she didn’t have any comedy to play with in this. I don’t think it knew if it was a comedy or something entirely different.

I’m sure plenty of people will buy into it and enjoy Walter Mitty as a consequence, but sorry, not for me.

2.5 clappers

 

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

10 comments

  1. Saw the preview and wasn’t impressed – the movie didn’t seem to be sure of what it was doing. Plus I can’t stand Kristen Wiig… sorry, I just can’t.

    • Really? I think she’s alright. I totally agree about the film though, it was pretty average. So Wiig YES Walter NO

      • yeah I think I must be one of the only people (the only person?) who didn’t like Bridesmaids

      • Bridesmaids was ok, a bit overrated. It’s only because people WANTED to like it because it was women rather than men behaving badly I think. It did have some good moments though, mostly Wiig as well I have to say 😉

      • yeah I think you’re definitely onto something there about people WANTING to like it for the reason you mentioned. Everyone kept calling it “‘The Hangover’ for women.” Bah. I thought it was depressing. I felt the same way about “Knocked Up” – really sad movie about shitty people doing shitty things to each other.

      • I can’t remember a lot about Knocked Up, I imagine it was the same as most Seth Rogen comedies though! Basically just full of dick and pot jokes!

  2. Yeah.. Heard a lot of different opinions about it, so I guess we’ll see.. Trailer looked good.

  3. Good review Thomas. Though Stiller definitely doesn’t work perfectly here, he still does enough right, than actual bad and I think that’s definitely worth to be seen.

  4. Interesting review, Tom. Ben Stiller should perhaps rethink his strategies. 😉

Leave a Reply

