IN A WORLD…(2013)

world

Starring: Lake Bell, Ken Marino, Rob Corddry, Fred Melamed, Demetri Martin, Nick Offerman, Michaela Watkins, Geena Davis

Directed by: Lake Bell

Synopsis: An underachieving voice coach finds herself competing in the movie trailer voice over profession against her arrogant father and his protege.

This is the second written/directed/starring movie I watched over the weekend, along with Don Jon by Joseph Gordon-Levitt. This one is by Lake Bell and is another accomplished effort.

When I first heard about In A World…I though it sounded like a pretty fun and interesting film. I wouldn’t say I was disappointed by it, just that I was hoping for a bit more. If it was a comedy I can’t say I really laughed much, but that’s not to say I didn’t enjoy it. It kept me entertained for the length of the movie, there were some good supporting roles for the likes of Ken Marino, Demetri Martin and Nick Offerman, and some crazy fake trailer with (if you look closely) Cameron Diaz.

Lake Bell plays Carol who is daughter to one of the great voice over artists. He is arrogant and dismissive of his daughter and her desire to do the same work he does. He also is a bit of a dead ringer for Francis Ford Coppola but I don’t think that is neither here nor there. Her dad is promoting the new kid on the block, Gustav Warner, played by a slick and sleazy Ken Marino. Carol scoops one of Gustavs gigs when he is sick and then she gets the gig on a big movie trilogy. Before you know it, her Dad and Gustav pitch their hats in the ring as well, and it becomes a three way race to book it.

I liked the film on the whole, I just wasn’t wowed by it like I thought I might be, or wanted to be. I wanted it to charm me. I liked the relationship between Carol and Louis, and I liked the fact that the film was given some depth because of the b story featuring Carol’s sister and husband, although I’m not sure what it had to do with the story overall.

Like Don Jon, this was another good effort from a debut(?) director and, again, I’ll look forward to seeing what Lake Bell does next.

3.5 clappers

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

12 comments

  1. This sounds good! I really like Lake Bell, she’s a great actress 🙂 Also been meaning to watch Don Jon so thanks for the reminder! xx

    • Cool. I think you will be in the company of two decent movies if you get round to watching them. Glad you are still alive after watching Spring Breakers!

  2. Thanks for your review, Tom. This movie’s been on my TBW list for weeks.

  3. I took a voice-over course about 12 years ago and have done a handful of low-budget voice-overs since then, so the setting for this movie definitely interests me. Add in the fact that I love Lake Bell from Childrens Hospital (if you’re never seen this 15-minute TV series, I highly recommend it…what a cast) and this is something I need to see. I read about it recently but had forgotten about it, so thanks for the reminder (and positive review).

    • Wow I just looked up Children’s Hospital on IMDb and you’re right, there are hundreds of great names in it (most of which appear in this film). I’ll have to check it out some how!

      • It’s one of those shows that’s worth sitting through several episodes before deciding how you feel about it. Even though it’s set in a hospital, it’s not just a parody of medical shows. They throw every possible type of humor at you, and there’s a rotating cast with only a handful of people who have been in most episodes. I hope you can watch it somewhere in cyberspace.

  4. Huh a different one for you! I’ll probably skip this one based on your review

  5. Ken Marino is in this? That certainly catches my interest. Not a bad score, and an interesting concept on paper, maybe I will check it out. Nice write-up!

  6. Was really thinking about checking this one out, now I think I will. Stellar article, Thomas :).

    By the way, loving the layout, especially the organization :).

Leave a Reply

