THE HUNGER GAMES: CATCHING FIRE (2013)

hunger

Starring: Jennifer Lawrence, Woody Harrelson, Liam Hemsworth, Elizabeth Banks, Josh Hutcherson, Stanley Tucci, Donald Sutherland, Philip Seymour Hoffman

Directed by: Francis Lawrence

Synopsis: Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark become targets of the Capitol after their victory in the 74th Hunger Games sparks a rebellion in the Districts of Panem.

Part Two of this huge series sees Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss Everdeen kicking more ass, this time though, to prevent further controversy maybe, it’s adults instead of kids who are perishing.

The first Hunger Games surprised me because I was expecting to be unimpressed. I’ve never read the books as it’s not really a genre that appeals to me. In fact, I probably only knew the books existed because the film was released (hey, I’m old) so only knew what it was loosely about. I sat down and thoroughly enjoyed it. Lawrence is so appealing and it was nice to watch something fresh, that was a huge mainstream hit but not dumb or thoughtless.

I started watching part two and I’ll admit, after like, an hour, it was starting to drag a bit. There was a lot of build up, and little pay off. It desperately needed to get to the next games to pique my interest. And luckily I can report that once it got into its stride it was another enjoyable romp like the first film. There was some fine set pieces and action, including mad monkeys, poisonous gas and the usual crazed competitors. Lawrence was great once again, and showed that she is a girl for all occasions, back to back with American Hustle!

My one bugbear with the film, is this…Peter! Man, this guy really winds me up. He just seems to be a pathetic, naive weed who endangers Katniss at every turn. Seriously Katniss, ditch him otherwise he will get you both killed! Oh, and Philip Seymour Hoffman didn’t get the memo about wearing crazy stuff?

The ending set it all up well for the next film. I’ve heard the third book is the worst, so I’ll be interested to see how they combat this. All in all, I thought Catching Fire was a decent Saturday night flick.

3.5 clappers

P.S. Shortly before I reviewed this I heard the news about Philip Seymour Hoffman passing away. A great actor who will be sorely missed. RIP.

philip seymour hoffman

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

10 comments

  1. giorge thomas

    I saw hunger games on a plane, so it didn’t really have the impact it was supposed to have.

    • Yeah, it’s OK as a bit of escapism for a couple of hours, and another chance to see Jennifer Lawrence, but nothing more than that I don’t think.

  2. Great post, I still can’t believe Philip Seymour Hoffman is dead. Such a terrible loss.

  3. Heh, took you a while to see this one! I thought the first movie was better, but still found the arena scenes pretty amazing in this one. Not necessarily because of the acting/plot, but simply because it was an amazing set and almost exactly how I imagined it would look when reading the book.

    • Yeah it was a nice escape for a couple of hours. I’ve never read the books so can’t comment on its accuracy. I heard the last book isn’t very good though?

  4. I thought the first movie was better but I did really enjoy this one. I’ve read all the books and gotta admit, they completely LOST me at some points! So this film definitely cleared a lot up that I was confused about. I wish there was more arena and less build up though. I know the build up was important but the arena part of the book was OUTSTANDING. Like it was unbelievably good and they did miss quite a lot 😦 Still a good film though, looking forward to the next 2!

    • They say the last book was the worst. Any truth to that? Or have we already had this conversation?

      • We haven’t already had this conversation, no and I think the last book was the worst. It wasn’t BAD but I had NO IDEA what was going on! Like literally not a clue so I’m probably not a very good judge but I do tend to think a good book is one you can make sense of… Haha looking forward to the films, hopefully they’ll make things a bit clearer :S

Leave a Reply

