THE WINTER OLYMPICS MOVIE SPECIAL

So, the Winter Games are in full flow. To some people they are the runt of the Olympics litter, begging for scraps whilst it’s bigger brother, the Summer Olympics gets all the attention. Well I actually rather enjoy watching it myself. And this got me thinking about films that tie in with some of the events. The trouble is, I couldn’t think of many. Not that I have personally seen anyway. Here are the ones I have…

slap shot

Slap Shot (1977)

A classic of the sports genre, Slap Shot is about an Ice Hockey team who are on the verge folding and their plans to reinvigorate interest. The plan, instead of playing good hockey is to bring in the three Hanson brothers who, to put it frank, like a punch up. The crowds go wild for the rough stuff and the Charlestown Chiefs achieve their aim. Starring Paul Newman, this has gone on to influence countless other sports movies, including the more recent Seann William Scott movie, Goon.

runnings

Cool Runnings (1993)

As with most early nineties comedies, the film starred the late, great John Candy. In fact, this was Candy’s last major film role before his death, and it went on to be a huge hit. It is the true story of the Jamaican bobsled team trying to compete at the Winter Olympics. When I say true story, I use it loosely, but the film is never the less a whole lot of fun, and a true underdog classic.

racer

Downhill Racer (1969)

A film that received mixed reviews upon release, despite starring Robert Redford and Gene Hackman. The downhill racer in question is Redford, a member of the US ski team, and an arrogant sod. The ski scenes are viewed first person, heading down the slopes at speed, so give it a really realistic feel. Not one of Redford’s best, but worth checking out nonetheless.

blades

Blades of Glory (2007)

I’ll be honest, I haven’t really liked a Will Ferrell film since Anchorman, so have no great feelings about this movie. It is the story of Chazz Michael Michaels (Ferrell) and his rival skater Jimmy MacElroy (Jon Heder). They are banned from competing in the singles competition, but due to a loop hole they compete together in the doubles. It’s a fairly predictable comedy, with some decent moments, but nothing that stunned me personally.

If you have seen any other movies about winter sports please share it with us in the comments section!

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

15 comments

    • Not seen that Brian? What’s it about?

      • I second Brian’s suggestion of Better Off Dead, a very ’80s comedy starring John Cusack in which downhill skiing features prominently. Not sure how it will play to someone who’s never seen it, but it’s one of those touchstone movies from my late teens with so many quotable lines.

        For a more recent movie, I would recommend “Goon” starring Seann William Scott as a brawling bouncer who’s recruited to play hockey for the sole purpose of kicking the other team’s ass. Not a great movie but enjoyable, with some good performances from most of the cast.

      • I’ll have to check out Better Off Dead, cheers Rich. As for Goon, I really enjoyed that movie!

      • It’s a comedy about John Cusack trying to kill himself after his girlfriend dumps him, and there’s a lot of downhill skiing involved.

  1. Great post & idea! Cold Runnings brings back so many memories 🙂 Used to watch it as a little kid with my brother all the time. Downhill Racer sounds interesting. Wasn’t big on Blades of Glory personally but it’s worth a watch..

  2. Tom

    Good stuff man. I’m about to get to Cool Runnings myself. I personally love all things Winter Olympic-related, I actually prefer the games to the Summer ones.

  3. Good gosh “Blades of Glory.” All I remember from that movie is their “super secret/special move” or whatever, that involved Will Ferrell’s character trying not to cut off Jon Heder’s head. But for some reason in my mind it was Heder’s balls that were in jeopardy. Perhaps not so surprising that I misremember it that way… it’s a Ferrell movie, after all.

  4. Pingback: Reel Quick: Better Off Dead | Hard Ticket to Home Video

Leave a Reply

