BIG BAD WOLVES (2013)

big bad wolves

Starring: Lior Ashkenazi, Rotem Keinan, Tzahi Grad, Doval’e Glickman

Directed by: Aharon Keshales and Navot Papushado

Synopsis: A series of brutal murders puts the lives of three men on a collision course. The father of the latest victim now out for revenge, a vigilante police detective operating outside the boundaries of law, and the main suspect in the killings – a religious studies teacher arrested and released due to a police blunder.

So, Big Bad Wolves is Quentin Tarantino’s favourite film of 2013 huh? Now, I respect Tarantino’s work a lot, but I can’t agree with him on this one. I’m not saying this film is bad at all, but the best of last year? It probably wouldn’t even scrape into my top twenty. I can only presume Tarantino had some money riding on this some where?

Anyway, on with the show. The film starts with the suspected child killer strapped to a chair and beaten with a phone book by some dodgy cops. If he thought this was bad, by the end of the movie he will wish he was still being beaten by a phone book! It gets nasty. After this initial beating the teacher is actually let go to get on with his life. However, one of the cops doesn’t believe the guy is innocent and recaptures him. To cut a long story short, both the teacher and the cop end up in the house of the father of the murdered girl. And this guy is not happy. At all.

If you are a person with a weak stomach this film will now probably lose you as a viewer. It basically involves the teacher being strapped to a chair and fingers snapping, toenails being pulled, blowtorches and rusty saws. It’s pretty grim, and I guess is most reminiscent of the torture scene in Reservoir Dogs, hence Tarantino’s love for this movie.

Despite the above description, I didn’t find the film overly gratuitous. It had it’s moments but it was tempered by some good black comedy. It kind of became a bit of a mess near the end I thought, and the ‘twist’ wasn’t particularly exciting. In fact, I’m not sure it even made sense. I won’t let you in on it obviously, but I’m happy to discuss it privately!

At the end of the day, the movie will garner far more views and press than it would have because of QT’s endorsement. Whether it deserves all of that is another matter. Good but not great.

3.5 clappers

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

10 comments

  1. Awesome! Didn’t know this was already out and available. Nice!! Thanks for brining it up 😀

  2. Abbi

    I’ve seen some really good reviews for this one. Not sure I am up for the torture scene though…

    • I was kind of not looking forward to it either, but it’s not quite as gruesome as you think. It’s still not for the feint of heart though!

  3. Matthew Ryan

    I have noticed over the years that Tarantino has some interesting film taste, and I disagree with him very often. Big Bad Wolves is a movie I have wanted to see for awhile, though. I should be getting a copy of it soon.

    Great review!

  4. Well jeez… I don’t have a weak stomach, but I don’t want to watch a movie whose central plot revolves around an extended torture scene… Zero Dark Thirty was bad enough! Like the new ranking system, btw!

    • There is a bit more to it than that, but that is one of the main scenes. If Zero Dark Thirty turned you off, this definitely isn’t for you!

  5. Oh, you got around to seeing this! Liked it a bit more than you did, but a three in a half isn’t bad at all. Agreed that it is nowhere near film of the year worthy though….

Leave a Reply

