NEBRASKA – BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN (1982)

nebraska

Track Listing (key track in bold)

1. Nebraska
2. Atlantic City
3. Mansion on the Hill
4. Johnny 99
5. Highway Patrolman
6. State Trooper
7. Used Cars
8. Open All Night
9. My Father’s House
10. Reason To Believe

Another 2 for 1 review, coupled with my review of the film Nebraska. This time it is the album of the same name by Bruce Springsteen.

First thing’s first, I’m a fan of The Boss, without ever really getting in to his albums in a big way. I’m a fan, in that I like to hear his songs on the radio, I like a lot of his songs, I like THE IDEA of him but I can’t always listen to a whole album of his in one sitting if that makes sense. Apart from maybe Born To Run.

So, Nebraska is apparently his ‘Dylan’ album, in that it is mainly just Bruce, an acoustic guitar and some harmonica. Folk rock I guess, much like early Bob. The trouble is, I prefer the chest thumping, rebel rousing Boss, complete with the E Street Band. I like the singalong choruses and awesome musicianship. Nebraska is more of an introspective album, more about the lyrics. Unfortunately I don’t always take a huge amount of notice of lyrics, it’s always about melodies and hooks to me.

My favourite tracks then, were songs that had a tiny bit more ‘oomph’ in them, such as Atlantic City and Johnny 99. Don’t get me wrong, the other tracks, like the title track for example are great too, but for me, I prefer some energy in my music. Maybe it’s an album that requires a few listens to let the stories sink in.

Overall, I think it’s actually a good companion piece to the movie of the same name, not least because of it’s monochrome, cold feel.

3 guitars

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

3 comments

  1. giorge thomas

    No you didn’t. Accidentally hit the like on this one.

  2. You don’t like The Boss?

  3. I like the Nebraska combo! Agreed about the record (haven’t seen the film yet alas) – it’s very bleak, not bad per se, but I prefer a good Clarence Clemons sax solo!

Leave a Reply

