BUTTER (2011)

butter_0005

Starring: Jennifer Garner, Olivia Wilde, Rob Corddry, Alicia Silverstone, Ty Burrell, Hugh Jackman, Yara Shahidi, Kristen Schaal

Directed by: Jim Field Smith

Synopsis:┬áIn Iowa, an adopted girl discovers her talent for butter carving and finds herself pitted against an ambitious local woman in their town’s annual contest.

After watching Drinking Buddies and finding a new found respect (and love) for Olivia Wilde, I was tipped off that I should watch Butter. Whilst I didn’t hate it, I wasn’t overly impressed I have to say. Although, that might not be the films fault.

I sat down as normal, wondering what cinematic treat lay before me. I watched maybe half of it before noticing the BAFTA’s were on. I decided to seize the moment and watch them instead. I simply thought I would resume watching Butter the next night. Except my daughter turned up two weeks early, meaning there was quite a gap between the first half and second half. Maybe that’s why I can barely build up the enthusiasm to review Butter. Maybe it’s just bad luck or timing.

But, the show must go on. So, as quickly as possible. Ty Burrell plays a champion butter carver. He is told by the judges (I think) that he can’t enter anymore. His wife, Jennifer Garner is annoyed and takes it out on her husband, who seeks solace in the arms of a stripper (Olivia Wilde). Garner find out and is so angry that she says SHE is going to enter the butter carving competition. Olivia Wilde is annoyed because she is owed money by Burrell, so SHE decides to enter the competition too. Meanwhile, a young foster child (Yara Shahidi) finds her new family (Corddry and Silverstone) a great support as she TOO wants to enter the contest.

I know, a film about butter carving. Kind of crazy huh. Well, sort of. It’s pretty formulaic really though, with no real moments of quirkiness you may have expected. There are a few funny moments, a few bizarre moments and some heart-string tugging moments as you would expect from an underdog story.

The cast are OK, but are overshadowed by young Yara Shahidi who was excellent. Olivia Wilde was pretty funny as well as the crazy rock chick stripper who rides a BMX and corrupts Burrell’s daughter.

All in all, not marvellous, but it passed the time, and is significant as now being known as the movie that marked the birth of my daughter!

2.5 clappers

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

7 comments

  1. Good review. The ensemble does fine with what they have, although the comedy, nor the heart, is all that great to begin with.

  2. I liked it, and you are right, it was something to pass the time by. Will probably never watch it again, but it was enjoyable.

  3. Abbi

    Wait… butter carving??? WTF?

  4. Hmm!! I wonder who tipped you off about Butter. Ha!!
    No, it’s not your fault you weren’t that crazy about the film. I thought the film was just watchable, not great (I had given it a 5/10 back then) myself. And I agree, both Yara Shahidi and Olivia Wilde were both very good in their respective roles.

    • Haha, I couldn’t remember who told me about it Nuwan, but I remember you mentioned it after I had seen Olivia Wilde in Drinking Buddies! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

