ELECTRICK CHILDREN (2012)

electrick-children-pic01

Starring: Julia Garner, Rory Culkin, Bill Sage, Liam Aiken, Cynthia Watros, Billy Zane

Directed by: Rebecca Thomas

Synopsis: Pregnant by music? Rachel, a young teenager from a fundamentalist Mormon community, believes in immaculate conception, while her fundamentally religious family regards her condition as an intolerable transgression. The search for the child’s origins is a revelation for the 15-year-old.

I don’t know what to think about Electrick Children. I was hoping for more I think. I felt a little let down, whilst still quite liking the film, if that makes any sense? I just think a synopsis of, basically, “mormon girl plays a tape of some music and then falls pregnant, believe it is an immaculate conception, and goes out to find the band who recorded the song” should have been more interesting than this, or at least more quirky.

I’m probably being overly harsh, because it was a perfectly fine, low budget indie flick, who’s cast were all excellent. I just thought the story took some strange turns near the end. I won’t give anything away, but the introduction of Bill Sage’s character I thought was a bit odd, certainly how his seeing a blue cassette tape after fifteen years jogged his memory so well!

Julia Garner, who is cropping up in quite a few films featuring ‘closed off communities’ recently, what with Martha, Marcy, May, Marlene and We Are What We Are, certainly is a talented young actress and was entirely believable as the naive young prairie girl. There wasn’t a great amount of character development for anyone in the 90 minute run time though, so the film was ultimately fairly forgettable I think.

Electrick Children is a missed opportunity I think.

2.5 clappers

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

