WE ARE WHAT WE ARE (2013)

we-are-what-we-are-03

Starring: Bill Sage, Ambyr Childers, Julia Garner, Michael Parks, Kelly McGillis, Wyatt Russell

Directed by: Jim Mickle

Synopsis: The Parkers, a reclusive family who follow ancient customs, find their secret existence threatened when a torrential downpour moves into their area, forcing daughters Iris and Rose to assume responsibilities beyond those of a typical family.

An atmospheric slice of southern gothic horror, We Are What We Are was a pretty enjoyable watch for the most part, but was let down by a slightly by the numbers ending.

As you know, I’m no horror fan. So, I had to pluck up the courage to watch this, just in case. I needn’t have worried as there were no real horror elements to it. Sure it was violent and bloody in places but nothing I’ve not seen in non-horror movies.

In fact, I thought it was a pretty good little film. The Parkers are, to the outside world, a quiet family who keep to themselves. The old man is a bit odd, but the girls seem sweet enough. One day, on a trip to the local village, their mum suddenly drops dead.

The mothers death leaves Mr Parker in a bit of a state. His daughters realise they have to try and keep the family together, and respect their fathers questionable beliefs, whether they want to or not.

In case you’ve not seen or heard of this film, I won’t ruin it for you, suffice to say the families old traditions are a bit odd. And I wouldn’t want to head around their place for dinner any time soon. The film is an English language remake of, I think, a Mexican horror movie. I’ve not seen the original but its supposed to be better than this, which carries a surprisingly low rating on IMDb. I actually quite enjoyed the film for the most part. It was suspenseful and atmospheric. The one main gripe was the needless flashback scenes to highlight why the family had their rituals. I mean, it didn’t add anything to the film and was totally pointless.

All actors involved, whether it was vets like Bill Sage, Michael Parks and Kelly McGillis, or the younger cast like Ambyr Childers and Julia Garner played their roles really well. The tense atmosphere and sense of dread builds well, there is the odd gory demise and a rather crazy ending. All in all, a pleasant surprise.

3.5 clappers

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

21 comments

  1. Great review, Tom! 🙂
    I’ve seen the trailer (on Entertain; one of my two co-watchers didn’t want to see it) 😦
    Therefore, it is still on my TBW list.
    Reminds me remotely of FRESH MEAT (New Zealand 2012, directed by Danny Mulheron). This movie has certain qualities of a comedy…

    • I’ve not seen Dead Meat Karen, but I can say this film has no comedic qualities at all. It’s fairly creepy but enjoyable none the less.

      • Indeed, this trailer has a creepy quality. Fresh Meat has some hilarious, and sometimes shocking moments. Even both at the same time…
        It was one of the crowd’s favourites at 2013’s FFF (I posted about the FFF).

      • I’ll have a look Karen, thanks for the tip!

  2. Another positive write up of this one. Really interested in checking it out now. Nice write up mate.

    • Cheers man. I’m not a horror fan at all, but this surprised me because I think it was more about atmosphere than scares. Hope you like it!

  3. giorge thomas

    Ooh. I missed this one. Sounds interesting.

    Love, the actress.

  4. theipc

    I loved this movie…. I have seen the original and I thought this one was far better….

  5. As for you Thomas, I am glad that you watched a horror movie. It may have drama aspects, but it is horror at heart. I enjoyed it as well personally!

  6. Pingback: COLD IN JULY (2014) | MOVIES & MUSIC CAFE

Leave a Reply

