BITTER RIVALS – SLEIGH BELLS (2013)

sleigh

Track Listing (key track in bold)

1. Bitter Rivals
2. Sugarcane
3. Minnie
4. Sing Like a Wire
5. Young Legends
6. Tiger Kit
7. You Don’t Get Me Twice
8. To Hell With You
9. 24
10. Love Sick

There has always been a bit of a buzz about Sleigh Bells. Right from their debut album “Treats” they have been a sort of stereotypical ‘hipster’ band. A name that people like to put out there, without actually wanting to listen to them. I was sort of in that boat, in that I liked some of that album (I think Infinity Guitars is a great track) but some of it was pretty noisy to my old man ears.

Bitter Rivals is Sleigh Bells third album and I thought it was time I gave it a listen and the band a re-appraisal. The album starts with the title-track “Bitter Rivals” which begins with some strummed guitar akin to George Michael’s “Faith” before breaking into that signature Sleigh Bells sound. Other highlights for long term listeners are tracks such as “Minnie” and “You Don’t Get Me Twice”. There are even some tracks you could possibly hear on the radio, “Young Legends” is the equal of any modern day pop or R ‘n’ B song. This being Sleigh Bells, you still have some tracks my parents would call ‘a racket’, such as “Sing Like A Wire”, but noticeably less than before.

Overall, I thought it was a fantastic album, with far more diversity than their debut album. If you go in knowing your ears are going to be assaulted on some tracks then you will find some fun tracks here. Likewise, if you are a fan of bands such as The Go Team and The Ting Tings you may also like Sleigh Bells.

4 guitars

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

2 comments

  1. Found out about them thanks to the Bling Ring and I’m glad I did! Definitely checking this out, I like their previous work quite a bit. Also good review 🙂

  2. I loved Treats so I’ll definitely get this. Sleigh Bells are a great band for waking you up in the morning!

Leave a Reply

