DOM HEMINGWAY (2013)

domhemingways_a

Starring: Jude Law, Richard E. Grant, Emilia Clarke, Demian Bichir, Kerry Condon, Jumayn Hunter

Directed by: Richard Shepard

Synopsis:¬†After spending 12 years in prison for keeping his mouth shut, notorious safe-cracker Dom Hemingway is back on the streets of London looking to collect what he’s owed.

The ghost of Guy Ritchie lives on in Dom Hemingway. Sadly, it is the ghost of Ritchie’s post Lock Stock career. I wonder if writer/director Richard Shepard has watched any movies since then?

The ‘mockney’ shtick that was charming in “Lock, Stock” and alarming in Jonathan Glazer’s “Sexy Beast” is now, to be honest, just thoroughly grating. That style of dialogue, or that stylised dialogue if you will, should have died along with Guy Ritchie’s career if you ask me. And that goes for the cock-er-nee East End macho rubbish too.

A haplessly out of shape Jude Law plays the titular character in cartoon mode. I can only presume his character had a bit of a belly on him from all the scenery he munched. Seriously, Jude really goes for it here. It’s not a bad performance when the film forgets about being a cartoon and hits the odd reflective moment. But really, I was just not buying into the character of Dom Hemingway at all. He’s supposed to, I think, be a bit of a loveable rogue. He wasn’t. He is supposed to be a humorous criminal with a florid way with words. He wasn’t. Some of the acting and dialogue was about as snappy as a dead crocodile. In fact, some of the language could have been written by a school boy. I’m no prude, but some of the language was so crude it was cringe worthy and kind of juvenile, in a “look at me I can swear” kind of way.

The premise is that, after doing a twelve stretch, Dom comes out to find his wife has died, his daughter hates him and his boss, Mr Fontaine, wants to see him. Dom stayed loyal, didn’t rat, and has lost over a decade of his life as a consequence. He feels he should be rewarded. Which he is, but then his luck starts to take a downward turn as he realises the world has moved on without him.

The film had the odd decent moment, such as when Dom and his pals crash their car and Dom get’s back to the mansion of his boss to find his money has been stolen. But otherwise, I can’t say I cared one bit for this film or it’s characters.

I know other reviewers quite liked the film, but apart from the odd moment from Jude Law, I hated it!

1.5 clappers

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

6 comments

  1. I quite liked the look of the trailer and I’m big fan of Richard E Grant so I might check this one out at some point but I’m not in any rush to.

    • Yeah, I’m sure plenty of people will enjoy it. Personally, other than Lock Stock and Sexy Beast, that forced, staccato “I.Am.A.Cock-er-neeeeee.You.C***” kind of talk just annoys the hell out of me. Guy Ritchie has A LOT to answer for!

  2. Tom….Thomas…I am going to have to disagree with you on this one. I see your point and all but eh…this was a gem for me. I loved it and enjoyed everything from the characters to the dialogue! I guess reception of this one is just very mixed from person to person!

  3. Yeah, I saw the preview for this in the theater and it looked like rubbish! Not surprised to hear that it wasn’t much good.

Leave a Reply

