ELYSIUM (2013)

Image

Starring: Matt Damon, Jodie Foster, William Fichtner, Diego Luna, Alison Braga, Sharlto Copley

Directed By: Neill Blomkamp

Synopsis: In the year 2154, the very wealthy live on a man-made space station while the rest of the population resides on a ruined Earth. A man takes on a mission that could bring equality to the polarized worlds.

If you read my last review (heh, I’m sure some of you might have!) about Prisoners, the same kind of applies to Elysium. A good concept, but let down in the end by it’s Hollywood ‘by the numbers’ play out. I was expecting bigger and more innovative things from the Director of District 9, Neill Blomkamp. And whilst it promised much at the beginning it soon devolved into a ‘who has the bigger weapon’ (not THAT kind of weapon) type action film. It could have been smart, a contender, but just ended up an also ran. It could have had a political message about class and how people abuse power, but it opted to just blow things up instead.

The cast were solid enough, I like Matt Damon and Sharlto Copley enough (although Copley was a bit over the top in this role). Jodie Foster was pretty average, just like the story.

3 clappers

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

14 comments

  1. lovefromtara

    damn! I was hoping it was better :/

  2. Good review Thomas. District 9 was a bit better, but this one was still tense, action-packed, and full of all sorts of messages and themes about our current society. Maybe there were too many of them, but at least the movie still kept me interested and entertained.

    • Thanks Dan! Don’t get me wrong, this was still a decent enough movie, I was just full of hope for the premise and felt it dumbed down a bit instead of aiming for something more.

  3. giorge thomas

    Yeah, I’ll probably miss this one.

    In the old days, a Matt Damon film would have me rush out to see it. Now when I see him on the bill I kind of think, nah, I’ll miss it.

    • I don’t mind old Matt, but there are more charismatic leading men out there aren’t there!

      • giorge thomas

        Yeah, I prefer those real character actors like Christian Bale and Barry Pepper.

      • Barry Pepper is a total legend eh!! Bale is good but it’s all about Matthew McConaughey for me nowadays. He is amazing in everything at the moment.

  4. Is it bad that this is precisely what I expected the film to be like based on the movie poster? And why does it seem to be more difficult to make good action movies than just regular movies?

    • As an action movie it’s ok, but I expected more (or was hoping for more anyway). Compared to a lot of action movies it’s actually decent, but it’s the fact it could have been MORE than that which is disappointing!

  5. I preferred District 9, but still really enjoyed this one.

    • Glad you liked it Amon. I’m not a huge fan of ‘action movies’ so I just felt the second half of the movie was a bit of a let down. Although compared to a lot of action movies, this was better than most!

Leave a Reply

