DAY 23 – A CHRISTMAS STORY (1983)

achristmsstory

Starring: Peter Billingsley, Melinda Dillon, Darren McGavin, Melinda Dillon, Jean Shepherd

Directed by: Bob Clark

Synopsis: Ralphie has to convince his parents, his teacher, and Santa that a Red Ryder B.B. gun really is the perfect gift for the 1940s.

This is a strange one for me. Being British, it’s not really on our must see list each Christmas. In fact, I had never really heard of it until a couple of years ago. I understand it is a bit of an American institution, and that all the TV channels show it on the same day or something? Maybe my American readers can confirm some facts about it?

Anyway, the story is a cute one about a family at Christmas, and in particular the older of the two children, Ralphie. It is his narration that frames the story, about his hopes and dreams of getting a BB gun for Christmas. Ralphie, played by Peter Billingsley is almost a pre cursor to Macauley Culkin in some ways. He has a cheeky, infectious smile and is instantly loveable.

There are some funny moments in a Christmas Story, and I’m guessing many classic moments that the American viewers will be able to quote instantly. There are also some nice tender moments which could bring a tear to your eye. It’s a very heartwarming tale, full of good Christmas cheer and all I can say is I hope to now make it my own tradition and watch it every year like my American counterparts!

4 clappers

About thomasjford

I like Movies and Music and most things popular culture.

7 comments

  1. Good review Thomas. My favorite Christmas movie ever, and most likely going to be one I watch this year, almost all day!

  2. Believe it or not, I have never seen this movie. I plan to rectify that tomorrow.
    Have a Merry Christmas!

  3. My favorite holiday movie, tied with “It’s a Wonderful Life.”

  4. Pingback: THE CHRISTMAS MOVIE ADVENT CALENDER…REVISITED | MOVIES & MUSIC CAFE

Leave a Reply

